ILYA Opti Champs: Minnetonka Opti sailors place three in the RWB Top Ten and Two in Green Top Ten

Fourteen Minnetonka, one White Bear and two Lake Calhoun sailors attended the 2010 ILYA Championships at Lake Okauchee on August 1-3, 2010.

Good winds on Monday allowed four solid races, with Minnesota RWB sailors finishing strong in every race. Minnetonka’s Mimi El-Khazindar and Jack Bitney proved the most consistent with finishes of Mimi 3, 4, 5, 10 and Jack 8, 3, 3, 12 for overall 2nd and 3rd place for the event. Both sailing in the Blue Fleet, they were also 2nd and 3rd in Blue, with fellow Minnetonka sailor Johnny Ferguson finishing 4th in Blue and 8th overall. Mimi also claimed the Top Female Skipper award, taking home the Allen Trophy. Johnny came away a race winner, with a solid victory in Race 3.

White Bear’s Kate Cox was the #2 Female Skipper, finishing 16th overall.

Minnetonka’s Luis Narvaez took home the Red Fleet 5th place trophy, finishing 34th overall.

In the Green Fleet, Minnetonka competitors Nate Olmsted and Riley Brackin placed 2nd and 6th respectively, sailing under some weed prone conditions in the morning, then sailing the longest beat of their lives, to get to the alternate course in the afternoon. Both sailed well and will be a force to be reckoned with in the future! Other worthy Minnesota finishers included John Hartfiel, Max Bernstein, Corbin Burdick, Annika Ekholm, Luis Narvaez, Aidan Boylan, Sam Sigel, Lilly Loosbrock, Morgan Brackin, Sydney Maxwell and Bennett Holmgren.

The RWB Regatta Champion was Trevor Trepton, Oconomowoc. The Green Fleet Regatta Champion was Will Davies, Lake Beulah.

No wind on Tuesday made for playing Texas Hold ‘Em, Spoons and other assorted land games. .. .. .

See for complete results and photos.